The Ghostly Jessamine…

frontJessamine  was released by Crooked Cat Publishing on the 9th December 2014 – but what’s it all about? In short, it’s a story of love, loss and location, but it’s also about how we are haunted by the ghosts of our past. Yep, Jessamine is supernatural but subtly so.

First up, let’s talk about location – it’s set in the misty, mysterious highlands of Scotland, in a fictional village called Glenelk, on the west coast of Scotland, overlooking the Isle of Skye. A bleak but beautiful place, it suits the story’s brooding tone perfectly.

Jessamine teaserNext is love – the force that drives our lives. But we’re not just talking romantic love here, we’re talking about the love that exists between friends and family, that spawns loyalty and the need to protect, about ties that bind through generations. But what happens when that which we love the most is lost? How do we cope with the grief that ensues?

The tagline for Jessamine is:

One village, four people and the ghosts of generations.

Jessamine Teaser 2All four characters – Jessamin, Fionnlagh Maccaillin, Maggie and Stan – are haunted in one way or another. Having come together from opposite ends of the country, what is the mystery that unites them? Can they help each to move on and, if not let the past go, at least find some way of living with it?

An emotional rollercoaster, I’m very proud of Jessamine. Yes, it’s dark and ghostly, but it’s very human too. As for tissues? I recommend you get yourself a box on stand-by!

To whet your appetite, here’s a short excerpt:

His anguish concerned her. “Stan…”

“Och, don’t mind me. I’m getting maudlin is all.”

“Stan, how could you think I’d mind? Of course I don’t.”

Furtively, she studied his face. He seemed so tired of late. The cough he’d developed was wearing him down. Into the lines of his face, his entire life seemed etched – a good life at times she knew but also painful, like any long life. No one sailed through the years unscathed. She felt bad she’d mentioned Flo’s death, Mally’s leaving again; there was no need to wallow in sadness and she said as much.

“You’re right, dear. Concentrate on happy times. Why not? We can’t go back. We can’t change things.”

If only we could.

“And when the sun is shining, it’s an easy thing to do. But, and I expect you know this as well as I do, it’s the dead of night you have to watch out for, when the wind is howling, when the rain pelts relentlessly against your bedroom window, when sleep refuses to indulge you. That’s when the bad memories rear up, when they demand their fair share of attention too.” He shuddered. “The dead of night, it’s an accurate description.”

Jessamin turned to face the old man fully. “Stan, you’re worrying me.”

“No, dear, there’s no need to worry.”

“Despite what I said about concentrating on the good stuff, you can tell me anything, you know that don’t you? Whatever it is… I’m here for you. I’m on your side.”

There were tears in his eyes. Quickly, Jessamin reached out a hand to comfort him. He took it, his grip surprisingly firm – desperation lending him strength perhaps. Her breath caught in her throat. What was he going to say? What had upset him so much?

When at last he spoke, his words chilled her.

“The dead of night, Jess, I wish they’d leave me alone.”

Jessamine Teaser 3

Jessamine is currently on sale for 99p from Amazon – now’s a great time to download it, saving it perhaps for those long winter nights – we all know they’re on the way – when you’re sat by the fire, a wee nip of something by your side. Here’s the links:

8 thoughts on “The Ghostly Jessamine…

  1. Love your title, Shani – and of course I loved your book! Made me think of my latest novella, which is also one of love, loss and location; but our books are set in different locations, and mine is about sickness rather than death. You are a genius: care to conjure up a suitable heading for me? Keep on writing – I’m looking forward to the next … and the next …

    • Ooh, Jane, I must read that when it’s finished – sounds great. It was my mum who came up with this title funnily enough, we were driving around and I said I’d like to write a book with a woman’s name as a title. That was it, the only idea I had, not what the story was going to be about! She suggested Jessamin, I shook my head, said no and then I thought, hang on… Jessamin, Jessamine, there’s a story to be had there! Voila! The book was born! If you want a beta reader, Jane, for your novella, let me know, could come up with a title then! Thanks for popping by!

      • Hi there Shani! What a wonderful offer…. but I obviously didnt make myself clear – I was looking for a title to promote my novella, and “Love, Loss and Location” is absolutely ideal!!

Leave a Reply

