The Runaways are Back…!

Well, what a December this one turned out to be! Not one but two book launches and oh, yeah, that’s right, a little thing called Christmas – not so little when you’ve got three kids champing at the bit for it!!!

RunawayEX_Sample13aParanormal mystery – Jessamine – launched on the 9th December. Set in the highlands of Scotland it concerns ghosts – both in a metaphorical and actual sense. And then, on Christmas Eve, it was the turn of the Runaways. Yep, The Runaway Ex – sequel to The Runaway Year – is now officially out in the big wide world. Woo hoo! Drum roll please and whatever other jubilations you care to throw at it!

Grittier than the first one, it concerns the same set of characters, Layla, Joseph, Penny, Richard, Hannah and Jim. But there’s a new girl on the scene too, Tara, or rather a blast from the past (remember her from The Runaway Year anyone?  She was mentioned – twice in fact!). And her surprise presence is set to blow them all to kingdom come! There are actually some big themes explored in The Runaway Ex, post-natal depression not least amongst them. The others, well… I can’t tell you without giving the game away. You’ll just have to read it and see.

Here’s the blurb:

The Runaways are back…

For Layla Lewis, life is finally back on track. After her “runaway year” in Cornwall, another year has passed—an idyllic year spent with sexy new love, Joseph Scott, in the sultry heat of Florence. For best friend, Penny, life has also changed. Having recently given birth to a baby girl, she’s busy embracing motherhood. But, for the runaways, life is never that easy…

A chance encounter with Joseph’s ex-girlfriend, Tara, has explosive consequences for the new lovers, and all three are forced back to Cornish shores. Meanwhile, motherhood is not the joy Penny thought it would be—she’s heading for a breakdown and fast!

The bubble is burst, the idyll shattered.

Tara has a secret and only Joseph knows what it is. Despite being asked to trust him, Layla can’t help but question what the secret is and what it has to do with them. As Penny arrives in Cornwall too, some friends will pull together, others will not.

This secret, Layla suspects, will tear them all apart.

And here’s an excerpt:

Quickly Joseph fell into step beside her.

“Before you say it—” She couldn’t keep her voice from sounding waspish. “Yes, I do trust you. You’re the one that’s paranoid, not me.”

“I’m not paranoid,” Joseph immediately retaliated. “I just get the feeling you’re not being honest with me, that’s all. You say you trust me but I’m not sure you do.”

Oh, and you blame me for that, do you? she thought, but refrained from saying it. Acting the harridan every time Tara’s name was mentioned was not going to endear her to anyone. Still, there was no way she was not going to stand up for herself.

“Joseph,” she said, coming to a standstill outside Uncle Davy’s Cabin, fine purveyors of fish and chips, or so the sign above the black painted door would have you believe. “Just cut me a bit of slack, okay? Tara turns up out of the blue, the one place in the world where you happen to be and you just happen to bump into her.” Briefly she paused. It reminded her of a line from that film, what was it? Casablanca with Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman. ‘Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine.’ The fact it was a romantic film, a romantic sentiment, irked her even more, but she bit down on that for now. “You then tell me you want her to accompany us back to Trecastle, because she’s in trouble, because she has a secret and not just any secret, but a big secret, a VIP one. Because of it she can’t face coming home alone; she needs a chaperone. I accept all this. And that you can’t tell me what this so-called secret is until the time is right. I also accept that you want me to trust you and I’m willing to trust you because I love you. I’ve never loved anyone the way I love you and I never will. But every now and then, I get a bit antsy about it. Don’t worry though, because I remind myself who I’m doing this for—you, not her.” She cocked her head to one side. “And you know what? In some ways I admire you. What you’re prepared to do for a… friend. But, whatever way you want to look at it, it’s a strange situation. The kind you find in books and think, yeah, right, as if. So forgive me if my enthusiasm wanes every now and then. Like I said, cut me some slack. Because you know what? That’s exactly what I’m doing for you.”

Layla would bet a pound to a penny the look of surprise on his face reflected her own. The pent-up feelings in her since finding out about Tara had obviously needed release—more so than even she had realized. Holding his gaze, she refused to look away. Nonetheless, her breath caught in her throat as she waited for his reaction.

Incredibly, he laughed.

If you want to see what all the mayhem and madness is about, here’s the buy links on Amazon:

UK http://tinyurl.com/prz4nra

US http://tinyurl.com/op5zv5q

I can also be found on Facebook and Twitter – see you there!

ps The Runaways are written in American English, as they’re published by American publishing company, Omnific Publishing – they’re not spelling mistakes, honest (at least not in America!).

One thought on “The Runaways are Back…!

Leave a Reply

