The 10 Question Blog Hop – Catherine Kirby

Catherine 2013

On my blog today is Catherine Kirby – she’s chosen to answer the 10 Question Blog Hop on my blog and I’m delighted to have her! She’s the first of many authors I hope to feature. Take it away Catherine …

Hello, I’m Catherine Kirby, Indie author and I’ve been invited by Shani Struthers to take part in this blog hop. Thanks for inviting me, Shani. It’s a real pleasure to join in. There are only ten challenging questions to reply to, so not like a written exam at all! Here goes then. Let’s get cracking!

1. What is the working title of your book or project?

The title is SEE THROUGH. It took a while to come up with but it’s descriptive on two levels. The first, because you see through them, refers to some of my characters who become invisible – more about that later. The second refers to seeing through the smoke screens they (we all at times) often use to cover our tracks.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book or project?

I was thinking about how people misunderstand each other at times when they avoid talking about the things that really matter. That can eschew a relationship badly. More hurt and trouble is caused by not being honest in order to avoid pain. But also, how humour can cushion the blows and help love survive.

3. What genre does it fall under if any?

It’s not easy to fit into a single genre. I’d say Paranormal/Romance would be one good choice though. There’s humour, family relationships, friendships and other serious issues as well, handled with a light touch.

4. If applicable, who would you choose to play your characters in a movie?

Emily Blunt would be great as Fleur, the main female character. Emily Blunt has the quirky, sensitive, spunky personality that would suit this role. For Sean, Fleur’s husband, I’d like to have Paul Rudd. I  believe he’d be just right for the struggling, mystified and frustrated husband. As for Mel, Sean’s ex, who’s never really left the scene, I think Cameron Diaz could easily carry off that manipulative, off-the-wall blond for me. I haven’t asked any of them for permission to name them, of course, so I hope they’d agree I’d got it right. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have a novel you’d written made into a movie?!!

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your manuscript or project?

We are all so much more than we think we are!

6. Will your book or story be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m an indie author and it’s available as an e-book on Amazon.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

To be honest I’m not sure. I don’t worry about time when I’m writing. It takes as long as it takes. I like to make sure it’s the very best it can be, so however long that turns out to be is completely fine.

8. What other book or stories would you compare this story to within the genre?

I’d say it would compare with an unequal mixture of books like Chocolat, PS I love you with a magic dollop of The Invention of Hugo Cabret.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book or story?

I thought it would be fascinating to observe people that you know without them being aware of it. I wondered what you’d discover about them, what they might say about you and how you’d then react, put obstacles in the way, or find ways to bring about a good solution. To do this, you’d need to become invisible and to somehow interact with those who can’t see you. This would be even harder if they couldn’t hear you either. The consequences in See Through are sometimes funny, sometimes catastrophic and at other times fortuitous. I leave it to the readers to decide which ones are which!

10. What else about the book or story might pique the reader’s interest?

Fleur is the one who becomes invisible. She doesn’t realise at first what has happened to her. She meets and becomes friends with other invisible people. They each have up to three months to sort out the mess their lives have become. If they accomplish this they’ll return to normal and life will be good. If they fail, they will remain invisible forever. Fleur makes plenty of effort to change her life but nothing seems to be going according to plan. The question is, will she manage to do this before the three months are up and how will that affect the rest of her family and friends?

See Through Cover EBOOK

Links to SEE THROUGH – UK:  http://amzn.to/yKz

US:  http://amzn.to/AxB7dC

CA: http://amzn.to/XKLIUN

 My Website: http://catherinekirby-author.weebly.com/index.html

 

The Next Authors with exciting books to tell you about are:

Jan Ruth – Alex Martin – Evelyn Tidman – Jeannette Christer

4 thoughts on “The 10 Question Blog Hop – Catherine Kirby

Leave a Reply

