The 10 Questions Blog Hop

Joanna Gawn, the lovely author of The Cordello Quest and House of the Stormwinds, invited me to take part in a bloghop. It’s my first ever – so as Miranda Hart would say ‘bear with, bear with’ … here we go!

The task is to answer ten questions regarding my book or WIP and then tag 4 or 5 other bloggers or novelists to do the same – unfortunately, I haven’t got a bloomin’ clue how to tag, so I’ll answer the questions first and then hope some dear soul out there can enlighten me on that particular aspect!!! Seriously though, if you do want to join in, just join in, it would be great to hear all about you.

The questions … my answers:

1. What is the working title of your book or project?

The book is called The Runaway Year.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book or project?

The book was inspired not only by its setting – Tintagel in North Cornwall, a place I visit regularly and love but also various relationship dilemmas I see various friends tackle in life.

3. What genre does it fall under, if any?

It’s dealing with 3 very modern girls and their very different romance issues – so probably contemporary romance. I would say chick-lit but I don’t think it is, it seems too frothy a term for my tome. Rather, mine is edgier, down to earth, not much froth at all.

4. If applicable, who would you choose to play your characters in a movie?

Joanna Gawn (who nominated me) chose Scarlett Johansson to play her main character Keira. Well, Scarlett’s in demand again, because I’d choose her to play Penny. As for Layla – Natalie Portman would be nice and Hannah, perhaps Rachel McAdams. For the hero of the hour – Joseph – it’s Channing Tatum, not because he fits the bill particularly, just because I fancy him rotten!

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your manuscript or project?

From bustling Brighton to the wilds of Cornwall – life doesn’t get any easier!

6. Will your book or story be self-published or represented by an agency?

It’s published through Omnific Publishing and is due out in e-book format and paperback on 2nd July 2013.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I pretty much edited as I went along – therefore, making sure each chapter was okay before I wrote the next. I then went back and edited the whole thing in one go before passing to my friend to glance her editing eye over. So, all in all, about 5 months.

8. What other book or stories would you compare this story to within the genre?

It’s been likened to the love child of Bridget Jones/Love Actually/The Holiday. I haven’t seen The Holiday yet, I really must!

9. Who or what inspired you to write this  book or story?

As I mentioned above, the landscape of North Cornwall was a huge inspiration – its so wild, rugged and well, romantic I suppose  – the ideal setting for any love story. I’ve been married forever but I see so many of my friends deal with romantic dilemmas and often I’m the shoulder to cry on. Whilst the romantic dilemmas of my three female characters are NOT based on any one dilemma or any one person in particular (honestly!), they are a sort of mish-mash of what goes on in real life with real people.

10. What else about the book or story might pique the reader’s interest?

All the characters are loveable (well, apart from one – although I find even him strangely loveable!), it’s got humour in it as well as pathos. It’s not just about romantic relationships either, it’s about relationships of all kinds, particularly between friends and even parents too. I’d also like to think the characters are easy to relate to, that the reader can identify with their emotional journeys.

Okay – the tagging:

Yasmin Selena Butt

Siobhan Daiko

Joff Gainey

Catherine Kirby

9 thoughts on “The 10 Questions Blog Hop

  1. Oooooh your WIP sounds right up my street, love Cornwall (as does my heroine Sophie, who hails from Newquay!), love the thought of running away (Sophie’s Run, haw haw haw) ~ will be checking it out, publish it fast!! Great answers, thank you!

  2. I am so looking forward to reading The Runaway Year, Shani! I’m really pleased you dipped your toe in the waters and carried on the torch for this blog hop questionnaire – fab responses, and loved reading more about what’s behind the novel.

    You know I’m a fellow Cornwall fan (and my co-author, Ron, is very proudly Cornish, too!) so your story has already got me on board! Can’t wait! x

  3. Hi Joanna, thanks for including me in the first place!!! Location is really important to me when reading a book too – if it’s set in Cornwall or Scotland, I am hooked just by the location. I have to say with The Runaway Year – I really think Cornwall is the star of the show!!! Am reading Lizzie Lamb’s Tall, Dark and Kilted at the moment – set in Scotland – and am loving my nightly foray into the Highlands!!! xxx

  4. I can’t wait to read this book! I love Cornwall and Brighton, so it’s already got me but it sounds very interesting too. Your comment about Channing Tatum made me smile. I’m with you there! xxx

  5. Hi Emily, well I hope Channing’s into sharing!! Watched him recently in a film called The Vow with Rachel McAdams – OMG – he was hot, hot, hot!!! My teen had been going on about him for ages but I just pooh pahed her and then he was there, before my very eyes, making me feel very wobbly indeed!!! Thanks for popping over Emily and your kind comments – I’m looking forward to reading your answers too xxx

  6. Have you seen Channing Tatum in Magic Mike? You get to see a LOT of him in that if you get my drift, God I sound like a pervert lol. He was producer on the movie too I think. Aces post. Thank you for tagging me, I will definitely try and rise to the challenge. Massive Cornish seaside buckets of luck with your debut. You’re going to do great, Shani xx

    p.s. Get thee a ‘subscribe by email’ button in the widgets section, that way your posts would go to my inbox and I would love that, tis easy to miss them in the feed which is I don’t want to do.

  7. Magic Mike? I’m on it, Yasmin. I would certainly like to see a whole lot more of Mr Tatum if possible!!!! Thanks for popping over and your lovely comments as well as your widget advice – which, as you can see, I’ve taken you up on!!! Never heard of a widget until recently, handy little things aren’t they?! xxx

Leave a Reply

